MNCPA recognizes 18 members at annual Celebrate CPAs Awards

MINNEAPOLIS (Sept. 24, 2018) — The Minnesota Society of Certified Public Accountants (MNCPA) announced the recognition of 18 individuals for their extraordinary service to the accounting profession. The award recipients will be honored Sept. 27 at the MNCPA Celebrate CPAs Awards Luncheon in Golden Valley.

Carolee A. Lindsey, St. Anthony, is the recipient of the Distinguished Service Award, the MNCPA's highest honor, for her exceptional service to the MNCPA for more than 27 years. She served in numerous capacities, including the MNCPA Editorial Committee, Peer Review Committee and the board of directors, most recently as vice chair. Lindsey is a partner at Weber & Deegan, Ltd in Edina.

This year, the MNCPA recognizes three individuals with the Public Service Award, given to those who make a difference in their communities:

  • Mark Elliott, Bemidji, has served 18 years as the district director for the northwest area for Minnesota Hockey, an affiliate of USA Hockey. Elliott is a sole practitioner. 
  • Sally Mainquist, Minnetonka, has served as a board member for the Alzheimer's Association Minnesota-North Dakota, the University of Minnesota Masonic Children's Hospital Philanthropic Board, and the University of St. Thomas Center for Ethical Business Cultures. Mainquist is a co-founder and CEO of Veritae Group, LLC in St. Louis Park.
  • Godson Sowah, St. Louis Park, served as board president of Avenues for the Homeless Youth, and as program director for the Accounting Career Awareness Program. Sowah is a senior manager at Ernst & Young LLP in Minneapolis.

Jeffrey Silvers, Eden Prairie, is the 2018 Outstanding Young Professional of the Year Award recipient for his continued and varied service to the MNCPA. Silvers is an operations lead at Wells Fargo in Minneapolis.

Bob Thelen, Bloomington, is the recipient of the prestigious R. Glen Berryman Award, given to esteemed instructors who teach full-day CPE seminars and consistently receive outstanding evaluations from participants. Thelen is a sole practitioner.

Stephanie Markert, Minneapolis, is the recipient of the Commitment to MNCPA Education Award for her work teaching multiple CPE programs and high ratings for presentation and effective teaching methods. Markert is an audit principal at CliftonLarsonAllen LLP in Minneapolis.

The MNCPA also recognizes its first-time webinar instructors, Ellen McCabe, Victoria and Nathan Uhl, Andover, as recipients of the New Discussion Leader Award.

Finally, nine retired members will be awarded life membership: 

  • Eleanor Anderson, Minneapolis, 33 years of membership
  • Andrew Biebl, New Ulm, 45 years of membership
  • Donovan Carpenter, Edina, 45 years of membership
  • Thomas Farm, Hugo, 44 years of membership
  • Daniel Flicek, Mendota Heights, 40 years of membership
  • Catherine Holtzclaw, Roseville, 39 years of membership
  • John Jelinek, Hopkins, 45 years of membership
  • John Roebke, Waconia, 45 years of membership
  • David Stene, Dayton, 39 years of membership

The Minnesota Society of Certified Public Accountants (MNCPA) serves the public interest by advancing the highest standards of ethics and practice within the CPA profession. The MNCPA delivers on that promise by offering extensive continuing professional education and resources; advocating for members and the public with regulatory agencies and boards; and mentoring and encouraging the CPAs and business leaders of tomorrow. Founded in 1904, the MNCPA has more than 8,500 members who work in public accounting, business, industry, government and education. 


Media contacts

Carolyn LaViolette
Office: 952-885-5530 

Corey Butler
Office: 952-885-5533